Campus BlogForeign Language Learning

What is Celta Certificate?

CELTA Certificate from Cambridge is a qualification for teaching English as a foreign language. If you want to teach English abroad country, it is the most common qualification in the world. Also you can take Celta Certificate to show your English teaching skills and abilities to your employer.

Who is CELTA Certificate for?

  • new teachers with no experience starting their career
  • teachers with some experience who want to develop their skills
  • first-language English speakers and non-first-language speakers
  • teachers who want to travel and teach English and study abroad

Grades of Celta Certificates

The syllabus consists of five topic areas:

  • Topic 1 – Learners and teachers, and the teaching and learning context
  • Topic 2 – Language analysis and awareness
  • Topic 3 – Language skills: reading, listening, speaking and writing
  • Topic 4 – Planning and resources for different teaching contexts
  • Topic 5 – Developing teaching skills and professionalism.

The Cambridge CELTA course currently has 4 possible grades:

Pass – The majority of CELTA graduates achieve a Pass grade. It shows a new teacher understands the basic principles of teaching English as a foreign language, and is capable of planning and teaching lessons, but initially they may benefit by some support from their employer as they enter the TEFL industry for the first time.

Pass B – A smaller percentage of graduates achieve a Pass B. In addition to the above, it demonstrates the teacher is able to clearly retain and build upon teaching methods and classroom management, and has the potential to manage a classroom with little need for support.

Pass A – A tiny percentage of graduates achieve a Pass A. In addition to the above, it demonstrates the teacher has consistently developed throughout the CELTA course, identifying and addresses any areas of weakness, as well as planning, teaching and evaluating their lessons to an extremely high standard. It is likely Pass A graduates can manage themselves and their lessons with very little need for support.

Fail – Unfortunately, not everyone is cut out to immediately teach English, and a Fail grade reflects that CELTA students have not developed to the level required by the stringent assessment criteria.

The great thing about the CELTA program is that the content stays the same no matter where you get your certificate, but thanks to Cambridge teacher trainers and the university’s meticulous and regular observations, choosing certain places can give you an advantage. About 70% of CELTA participants get a standard pass on the course, about 25% get a pass B, the CELTA pass A percentage is about 3%, and the final 2% fail.

  • TEFL: Teaching English as a Foreign Language
  • TESOL: Teaching of English to Speakers of Other Languages
  • TESL: Teaching English as a Second Language
  • CELTA: Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults (now known as Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Hey there! You are using adblock? Please disable adblock to use our site.